Forums
Search

Starting greenhouse in zone 7 (Pacific Northwest)

Hi, everybody.
I am not a new gardener but i am a new greenhouse gardener.
Wondering if there are some gardeners from zone 7 that have experience with greenhouses. I am not planning to heat it this winter but assume that i can grow some greens inside without heating in our zone. Am i right?

thanks

If you can keep it above 28º at night your greens will love it. I would be more worried about it getting too hot during the day. That daytime heat will keep it warm enough thru the night.

I don't have a greenhouse, but wishing for one!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Everything that blooms and grows, the garden angel scatters and sows...in the land of corn and pigs...Iowa Zone 4-5

Like (0 likes)
I am also new to greenhouse gardening, just got my greenhouse in Sept but have started lettuce and spinach in early Nov and am getting a good crop without heating the greenhouse. I am in Portland Or and have had a few nights around 30 degrees. I was told to keep the trays on the top racks and to the back of the greenhouse. This is supposed to be the warmest area. Good luck with your new greenhouse. Im having fun just learning.

Like (0 likes)
Yes, you can grow all sorts of greens, especially mache, and other stuff. Probably the best guide around is Eliot Coleman's book, The Four Season Harvest.

Live as though you'd die tomorrow. Learn as though you would live forever.
Like (0 likes)
I am using an unheated greenhouse this year for the first time. I have my bay tree overwintering in there, along with a few other potted herbs.
I have artichokes growing in the ground and they are doing very well. I hope by the time I things start warming up around here, they will be ready to transplant to the garden.

A dream of gardens foretells great joy.
Like (0 likes)