Forums
Search

preventing gophers in garden beds

hi everyone on OG i am new to gardening and in about two months when my compost is ready i will be laying down garden beds. i live on a ranch with an acre of land in the city. i have lots of gophers and don't want them in the new garden beds so i was wondering if at the bottom of the garden beds if i were to lay down some wire mesh would this keep the gophers out of the beds? i have tried getting rid of them with gum like juicy fruit, they have been eating it but still no deaths is there an organic way to rid these guys from my yard and or keep them out of my garden beds??

You can line your beds with mesh, has to be hardware cloth. theres a demonstration at these sites

http://www.sunset.com/garden/p...-bed-00400000039550/

http://www.reneesgarden.com/articles/raised-bed.pdf

I just go the straight trapping route but lose a few plants because of it, I'm slowly converting to mesh under the beds. Trapping seems to work pretty well apart from the odd one which seems particularly leery. Usually avergae about a dozen a yr so probably not too bad a problem but I'm sure others have it worse.

Inland Southern California USDA 9b, Sunset 19

Like (0 likes)
First, outting out gum in an effort to kill off unwanted pests does nothing except gives them something to chew on while they look over your garden to see what is even more tasty. The myth is that the gum will clog up their innards and thery would then starve to death. If it does not happen to you it will not happen to them.
Putting down hardware cloth under your planting beds can get to be quite expensive. Some sources suggest fences around the perimiter and buried at least 6 inches deep with an L shaped bit extending outward from the fence and the top 18 inches not tied so if the wee bugger climbs the fence falls outward and they fall off.

The sign of a good gardener is not a green thumb, it is brown knees.

West central Michigan along the lakeshore.

Like (0 likes)