Forums
Search

Miracle-Gro

Hello! I'm new here! I've been reading (and collecting!) a lot of Organic Gardening magazines, but something I haven't come across in any of my readings: Is Miracle-Gro organic or is it full of un-organic chemicals?! Thanks! Kompost Kook

Kompost Kook

I'm not an expert, but here's my take on Miricle Gro.
It's definatly not part of your completely organic breakfast.
It is made up of chemical derivatives that are at least somewhat organic, but this stuff is refined in a lab, which removes most of the natural compounds from the chemicals. I compare it to taking vitamins instead of eating your veggies. Better than nothing but you don't get all the health benefits!

I am not entierely against Mricle Gro. Many organic gardeners would disagree with me on that. I'm assuming a little, but it probably leaves chemical build up in your soil (am I right here guys- help me out!)

I can tell you though for sure, that instead of spraying miricle gro on your garden, it's much better in the long run to add organic compost- either from your kitchen scraps, frome bags of pre made organic compost, in the form of fermented steer manure(this is soo cheap and works like a charm). some other great quick solutions are bone meal and blood meal- you can just sprinkle them on- they are complete organic compounds! Your soil gets a nice rich loamy quality and that encourages a healthy balance. The mulch will nourish your plants and help you build a complex soil structure with earthworms and benificial "microheard" (love that word!). Lots of good bugs will be attracted to your garden and will help you control the bad buggiez and diseases that devoure your plants.

Then you get to enjoy the natural circle of life that gardening can bring to you and your friends and family. That's my favorite part of organic gardening: the experience of nature in it's purest most true sense. For me it's spiritual.

luv Gardenstar