Forums
Search

Whole wht Quickbread recipe from OG mag. 1970s

Hello all,
I'm new to this, but would like to hear from any baby boomers who might have a recipe from the old (remember the little reader's digest sized) OG magazines. Looking for a long lost recipe.

Anyone have a recipe from an OG magazine from the early 70s for whole wheat quickbread. Ingredients included molasses, buttermilk, and raisins (optional)
I don't have an answer
0 votes
0%
That's why I am asking!
0 votes
0%

Total Votes: 0
Vote
OK...obviously I don't get how this works... didn't know it was a survey, looking for info. sharing forum Smiler

Like (0 likes)
You simply hit the wrong button when starting this post. You obviously clicked on "Poll", which gives you the poll/survey format.

Go back, hit "New", & MAKE SURE you click on "Discussion". That gives you the normal post format. Then re-post your post.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"My body is a temple - unfortunately, it's a fixer-upper."

"And no, I'm NOT being snarky."

Zone 7a, Culpeper, Virginia

Like (0 likes)
Hey! Did you try a search on the OG website? I did get the magazine when it was a small version, but they are long lost now.
I made a similar bread recently but not from OG magazine.
Good luck!

Like (0 likes)
I searched the OG/Rodale recipes and found nothing, so checked allrecipes.com and here's the closest I've found there, with some of the reviews:

Hearty Brown Quick Bread

Submitted By: Susan Lane
Photo By: pomplemousse
Prep Time: 15 Minutes
Cook Time: 50 Minutes
Ready In: 1 Hour 5 Minutes
Servings: 32

"'Not only is this bread high in fiber and low in fat, but it's moist, rich, delicious and filling,' assures Susan Lane of Waukesha, Wisconsin. Sweet plump raisins and crunchy pecans make this whole wheat loaf an instant favorite."

INGREDIENTS:
4 cups whole wheat flour
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups packed brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups 1% buttermilk
2 eggs, lightly beaten