Forums
Search

Starting Seeds Indoors

OK, I'm going to start some tomatoes, peppers, cauliflower and cabbage from seeds this year. I have grown celery from seed in peat pots on the windowsill for the last 2 years but I have never grown anything else indoors. I have learned much by reading threads here but I would appreciate any advice. Here is what I plan:

Buy some trays and cell packs and use soiless mix not potting soil.
Water from the bottom.
Use fluorescent lights and keep only a few inches above the plants.
Use scissors to cut off extra plants.
I made a chart telling me when to start depending on the last frost date.

If you see anything that I missed, please let me know because I am new at this. The main thing I was wondering is how much light should I give them (how many hours per day?)

Thanks

Zone 7b  Southeastern PA

I was thinking the same as you- this is my first year as well, and I want to start tomatoes, peppers and eggplant inside. I've been saving yogurt containers, but was actually thinking about purchasing one of those trays with pellets- I won't use more than 20 or so since I have a pretty small garden. But I've read conflicting info about how long to leave the lights on- some say 24 hours, some 16, and some only 12. Can't wait to hear the answers! Good thing to know I'm not the only one!

Like (0 likes)