Forums
Search

Yeast in the garden ... or.... CALLING CAPTAIN COMPOST!!!!

OK...I admit it...I'm not good at cipherin'...

AND I can't turn down a good deal.

$16.00 for a 10 lb. box of dry yeast is a BIG bargain when 8 oz. normally sells for around $5.00.

Now my better judgement has kicked in and I've realized there is NO WAY this much yeast will ever keep long enough for me to use it up in baked goods. Can anyone tell me if there is a good use for this much yeast in the garden - either put in a manure tea or in a compost pile or ANYTHING?????? I plan on freezing part of it...as much as I know I can use up in a year's time. But I hate to have the rest of it go to waste if there is a use for it in the garden in some capacity.

Any ideas???

Here's what I do:
1) freeze the whole bunch, vaccuum sealing what I know I won't use in a year. I vaccuum seal in 2# lots.

2) test the year-old stuff I each week I want to use it, it's usually good.

Good luck composting it!

Like (0 likes)
I have had some cooking yeast in my freezer for over two years now, and I've never had a problem with it making the bread rise--and I do mean RISE! Also, i let my bread rise three times--twice in the bowl, and once in the loaf pans.

I get my yeast real cheap (2 pounds for about 3.99) at Sam's. I use it, I roll up the bag and clip it closed until the next time. The freezing seems to stop the yeast from degrading at all.

Hope this helps!

Theresa

Like (0 likes)
Yeast is of course a beneficial fungus. If you want to do it, yeast would be excellent in an aerobic gardening tea. Yeast is produced automatically in all my aerated teas because of the fermenting molasses and other grain or fruit products in my compost teas.