Forums
Search

Stunted Growth of Vegetables in Garden

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to gardening and to this forum. I planted sugar snap peas in March (I live in the Denver, CO area) and am now noticing that the leaves are starting to turn yellow from the bottom up and several plants have already died. About a week before that, the plants looked like they had stopped growing.

I am now noticing that the beets in my garden also have stopped growing and the leaves are turning yellow and spotted. It seems like everything else we try to grow in our raised garden bed sprouts up quickly and then stops growing (squash, scallions, etc). Does anyone have any ideas on what might be causing this and how to fix it?

Thanks for your help!

Photos (1)
SugarSnap

Not much help here. Just guessing. The weather is not helping, 90 today and frost two days ago. Now they are saying highs in the low 50's the next two days. Most everything is burned from the high winds.

My peas look about like yours. The beans are taller then the peas. Carrots have not changed in 10 days.

Bonnie
Like (0 likes)
Thanks Bonnie,
It's helpful to know that it's probably just the crazy weather and hopefully not something we're doing wrong! I did notice that the squash we recently planted seems to be doing better. I have a feeling all of our cool weather plants will just need to be replanted at the end of the summer. Thanks again!

Michelle

Like (0 likes)
Michelle - This is just a hunch, but have you recently added a lot of fertilizer - manure or compost? The beds look hot to me, which will cause the yellowing and early demise. Peas are particularly sensitive to hot soil (manure or compost which has not been properly aged and is still actively decomposing in the soil.)

I am at higher altitude and have milder temps, but have not noticed any negative impact from the weather.

Like (0 likes)